Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4960 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Norwegian, French, English, Italian, Papiamento
Studies: Mandarin, Georgian, Russian

Message 113 of 142
26 September 2013 at 10:41pm | IP Logged 
Time for a major update in my studies and, as usual, I come to my Russian log, as Russian seems to be my
"official" language for the TAC, the one I started learning around new year's eve.

I've had a total absence of 17 days of regular studies. That absence happened when life took all its way in to
a greater sense, a major change. As a culmination of this process, a 7-night trip to Curaçao and Aruba. I bet
you guys can imagine what was that process that took a few days of preparation/absence from work and ended
with such a nice trip. =D

So, given the nature of the trip, I'd say the 17-day absence didn't do major harms. Today I could get back on
track again, Georgian being the only language which seems more difficult to focus on, which is understandable
given the nature of the materials I use (either in German or entirely in the target language). I still have to
adjust my routine as now I'm working from mid-morning till mid-late afternoon, which means I won't have free
mornings anymore and will have to interrupt my morning studies both for going to work earlier and for having
lunch later (which used to be a single pause altogether). My total time for study didn't change much; I just
don't have to do extra time anymore, but it used to happen after I was done with all activities anyway. The
following days will tell me if it will become quieter or rather busier to study.

The trip allowed me to speak English, Spanish and Papiamento and thus evaluate my competencies on all of
these. I realized I'm fluent in English and can resort to it for clearing things up and avoiding
misunderstandings, despite some mistakes I still made. I also realized my basic fluency goal for Papiamento