Triglot
Italy
Joined 5141 days ago

980 posts - 1594 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, English, German
Studies: Russian, Swedish, French

Message 65 of 142
27 March 2013 at 9:30pm | IP Logged 
Whew! Your workload as outlined above is really daunting! I admire your stamina for managing so many languages at once, but I see where your fear of burnout stems from.

I’m not an expert in time management and my track record at keeping plans is patchy at best, so take what I say for what it is: a personal opinion based on my own experience.

I find that dropping a language often turns out to be a beneficial step in my winding road to language acquisition. Being stuck in a rut in your learning method plus the effects of the law of diminishing returns on the time invested in studying a language means that drastically overhauling your routine is often the key to freeing more energy and that allows you to be more efficient in general.

Moreover, a few weeks or even a few months away from a language, say Chinese, give you the opportunity to evaluate from the clarity of a little distance why you wanted to learn Chinese in the first place, what you enjoy about it and whether it’s really worth the effort. Practicing a little self-awareness never goes astray.

I’ve noticed that even though I often drop one or more languages for some time, I never really give up on them: the motive I started learning them rarely goes away, and I usually even find further compelling reasons to go back to them.

Finally, if what you actually fear is losing what you’ve already acquired in the language, don’t worry too much. Language skills generally sediment quite well in periods of quiescence, and when you pick up the language again you realize that you still remember most of it and you just need to brush it up a little. And a general review is always a great idea when it comes to studying any subject.