Latvia
learnlatvian.info
Joined 6339 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 113 of 120
25 July 2014 at 8:03pm | IP Logged 
I haven't checked out the audio for the book but maybe you can sort the files based on their size and eliminate the single words that way? Just an idea.

As for other courses, I think our (team member) favorites are all listed on the first page of this thread, you've probably seen them already. I used Click Korean and I liked it but you can't use it with a pencil and paper. Then there's Talk To Me In Korean, of course, the king of all websites for Korean learners. They have grammar lessons for complete beginners.

If you're looking for some Korean podcasts to listen to in order to get used to the language, you can try the TTMIK's Iyagi series. I started listening to them a few months after starting Korean, and I didn't understand (almost) anything for a long while but it still helped me a lot.
1 person has voted this message useful

The Real CZ
United States
Joined 5436 days ago

1069 posts - 1495 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Korean

Message 114 of 120
25 July 2014 at 8:50pm | IP Logged 
Any ideas for an August challenge? We haven't had that many this year since the team
leader isn't even studying Korean at the moment.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Evita
Tetraglot
Latvia
learnlatvian.info
Joined 6339 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 

Message 115 of 120
27 July 2014 at 7:24pm | IP Logged 
Here's a suggestion for the August challenge: Write a text describing a Korean person (friend or celebrity) and post the text here. The text has to contain at least 5 grammar points that you learned recently or simply don't know well and need to practice. Make the grammar patterns bold so that we all can spot them.

A special challenge - try incorporating 10 grammar patterns into the text. But no cheating. If you already know the pattern well then it doesn't count.