United States
justpaste.it/Mohave1
Joined 3801 days ago

291 posts - 444 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: French

Message 1 of 163
15 December 2013 at 11:22pm | IP Logged 
Welcome to my log! I intend to capture my detailed activities in learning French! I have found others' logs so
inspirational in providing the "inch stones" of how they learned the language -- showing me that I can still do
this! I am hopeful that this log will keep me accountable, as well as motivated, and maybe others will provide
their assistance, experiences or thoughts on how I can further improve.

About me...
I am approaching 50 and live in the US. Growing up on the Mexico-US border, I studied Spanish in
elementary school for six years. When I went to high school and to college, I studied French. I loved the
language so much, I toyed with the idea of becoming a French major, but really wasn't sure about how to
make a living other than teaching. I particularly enjoyed my French literature classes. Sadly after graduation,
I did not use my French. When we went to Quebec for a week's vacation this past summer, it gave me an
opportunity to re-start my French in May 2013.

Goals
I want to be able to watch French film and TV without subtitles, and to read French literature. I also want to
be able to have meaningful conversations in French. Using an assessment tool that emk posted a few
months ago, I believe I am a solid A2 right now, with stronger listening/comprehension skills. At the end of
2014, I'd like to have solid B1 skills in all areas, with a stretch goal of B2 in all skills. I hope my goals are
reasonable!

Edited by Mohave on 01 January 2015 at 2:29am

3 persons have voted this message useful

Mohave
United States
justpaste.it/Mohave1
Joined 3801 days ago

291 posts - 444 votes 

Message 2 of 163
15 December 2013 at 11:24pm | IP Logged 
What I have done to-date:

-Assimil French Without Toil. I love French Without Toil! I love the approach to language learning, I love the