How to maintain 5 languages

Language Learning Forum : Advice Center Post Reply
22 messages over 3 pages: 1 2 3  Next >>
Mankogadaisuki
Decaglot
Brazil
Joined 3714 days ago

5 posts - 6 votes
Speaks: Portuguese*, Spanish, Galician, Arabic (classical), Russian, Arabic (Written), Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, German

Message 1 of 22
16 March 2014 at 8:34pm | IP Logged 
Hello everybody,

At the moment, I am studying actively the following languages: Japanese, English,
Estonian, Russian and Chinese. I would like to know how you guys maintain a few languages
working full-time five times a week. Please, also consider that I do not live in an
environment where people speak any of those languages above.

Regards

1 person has voted this message useful

iguanamon
Pentaglot
Virgin Islands
Speaks: Ladino
Joined 5060 days ago

2237 posts - 6731 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Portuguese, Haitian Creole, Creole (French)

Message 2 of 22
16 March 2014 at 9:37pm | IP Logged 
First, welcome to the forum, Mankogadaisuki! There's a big difference in maintaining languages after you have learned them and maintaining studying languages that you haven't learned yet.

I will assume that you mean the latter. If that is the case, have a look at your fellow Brazilian Expugnator's log. He is a master of time management and juggling. Member, Serpent, is also quite adept at studying several languages simultaneously and gives good advice for those who would like to do that.

Also, you should consider updating your profile to reflect the languages you "speak" and the ones you study. Looking at your profiles helps members to give you more informed advice. You can edit your languages by clicking "Portuguese" and then add a language. For example, by your post it looks as if you speak English.

Boa sorte e bem-vindo ao forum!

Edited by iguanamon on 16 March 2014 at 10:47pm

3 persons have voted this message useful

DavidStyles
Octoglot
Pro Member
United Kingdom
Joined 3739 days ago