Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4926 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, Norwegian, French, English, Italian, Papiamento
Studies: Mandarin, Georgian, Russian

Message 57 of 65
15 April 2015 at 11:49pm | IP Logged 
Chung, I'm about to start dabbling in Turkmen but I've read your report on your log about the bad quality of the audio from the Peace Corps course; Now, is there an alternative? I can't play Flash videos here, so I don't have access to Headstart's audio. "Basic Turkmen" has no audio afaik.
1 person has voted this message useful

Chung
Diglot
Joined 6916 days ago

4228 posts - 8259 votes 
20 sounds
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Polish, Slovak, Uzbek, Turkish, Korean, Finnish

Message 58 of 65
16 April 2015 at 3:32am | IP Logged 
You could try using CultureTalk Turkmenistan since most of the videos are in Turkmen. However they're probably not ideal for a total beginner as I suspect you know already after having used CultureTalk Georgia.

That's a bit of a problem that you can't use Flash player as the DLIFLC's material needs it (e.g. DLIFLC Familiarization and Language Survival Kits), and they're great for getting attuned to the language's sound and matching sound with text. Is it only on your work computer that you can't use Flash or is it that you've had too many problems with Flash on any computer?

Expugnator
Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4926 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 

Message 59 of 65
16 April 2015 at 7:15pm | IP Logged 
Only here. It's the audioblock. I don't have time before or afterwards, though. Maybe I work on a textbook without audio and dabble in Headstart once in a while when I have time at home.

Expugnator
Hexaglot
Brazil
Joined 4926 days ago

3335 posts - 4349 votes 

Message 60 of 65
16 April 2015 at 11:05pm | IP Logged 
I downloaded the course so maybe I can try to use the course online and just play the sound files from my computer. It will be a bit messy but enough to get an idea of how the language sounds.

Chung
Diglot