United States
justpaste.it/kanewai
Joined 4701 days ago

1386 posts - 3054 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Marshallese
Studies: Italian, Spanish

Message 9 of 28
24 January 2015 at 9:11am | IP Logged 
I actually have my old notes! For French, I had two years in college, then nothing for a
couple decades. It took me twelve months of active studying, plus three weeks immersion,
before I tackled my first major novel (Madame Bovary). I still relied on the kindle
dictionary a lot, and referred to an English translation a lot. After another year of
intensive reading I tried Proust, and it took me ten weeks to finish the first volume.

After that, reading French seemed easy.

I studied Spanish on my own for a year, and was able to handle bilingual texts after that.
I didn't make the leap into independent reading.

For Italian it has been exactly twelve months of semi-regular studying, and this week for
the first time I was able to read fifty pages with only a small amount of trouble (Il
giardino dei Finzi-Contini). I have been trying to read since May, but it's been
challenging.

I haven't realized until now, looking at my excel spreadsheets, that it was twelve months
for each of the Romance languages.

On the other hand, after ten months of Turkish and fifteen months of Ancient Greek I wasn't
even close.

I should note that I focus a lot more on reading and listening, and only focus intensively
on speaking if I have a trip coming up. And I neglect writing almost entirely.
4 persons have voted this message useful

Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6409 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 10 of 28
24 January 2015 at 9:14am | IP Logged