United States
Joined 6273 days ago

25 posts - 27 votes
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Italian

Message 25 of 72
03 December 2007 at 5:11am | IP Logged 
TerryW wrote:
If there is no English translation of the transcript ala Assimil (which is the whole idea of its total immersion concept, I'd guess), I cannot imagine that a complete beginner could get anything out of it. One sure couldn't answer questions if he didn't know what the questions were, etc.

Complete French transcript & English translation for the entire video for lessons 2 - 13 are available at: http://www.mchenry.edu/faculty_pgs/ecorneli/digitalwarpaint/ html/fre151/fre151assign.html
6 persons have voted this message useful

tpark
Tetraglot
Pro Member
Canada
Joined 6844 days ago

118 posts - 127 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Dutch, French
Personal Language Map

Message 26 of 72
06 December 2007 at 4:26pm | IP Logged 
My wife and I had watched up to lesson 30 or so, and it's possible to get quite a bit out of FIA video without the book. I purchased the book and it clarified the things that were unclear without the book. It may be worthwhile to purchase the audio discs for the course, but I think I'll exhaust the other learning materials I have first.

2 persons have voted this message useful

Mike82
United States
Joined 6534 days ago

14 posts - 16 votes
Speaks: English*

Message 27 of 72
07 December 2007 at 2:21am | IP Logged 
I don't know if this was posted before, but you can watch all the episodes at

http://www.learner.org/resources/series83.html

... you have to sign up though, but it's free.
3 persons have voted this message useful

johnL
United States
Joined 6481 days ago

29 posts - 32 votes
Studies: Spanish, French

Message 28 of 72
14 December 2007 at 1:26am | IP Logged 
An excellent review/ad/endorsement of an excellent program!