Kotatko
United States
Joined 5067 days ago

16 posts - 23 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: French, Russian, Czech

Message 89 of 97
15 May 2010 at 8:44pm | IP Logged 
My Romanian friend claims to have learned most of her English from watching movies throughout her life and her English is almost flawless. Perhaps it is because she started watching these movies when she was a girl. She has had a few passive English lessons, but I was the first native speaker that she has ever met. Immersion is not enough. I have lived in Prague for over 4 years and still am at a beginner level of Czech. I never really started to comprehend things until I started studying it; having a Czech boyfriend has not really helped too much either. I still think self-study and language courses are the key to success.
1 person has voted this message useful

rjtrudel
Diglot
United States
Joined 6587 days ago

36 posts - 56 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish

Message 90 of 97
23 August 2010 at 2:41am | IP Logged 

s_allard wrote:
I'm a
strong believer in the repetitive use of excerpts with closed-captioning where that is available. Note that this
is
not the same as subtitles of films. Closed-captioning in North America is the actual transcription (admittedly
not
always very accurate) of the spoken words.

That is the same thing as subtitles, as that's what we call closed-captioning in most of the rest of the world.
Subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing (closed captions) are never an exact transcription because most
people can't read subtitles as fast as they can hear while simultaneously trying to follow the action. On top
of that, as soon as you lose tone of voice you introduce ambiguity, so sentences that work perfectly well on
the soundtrack need to be completely rewritten for the subtitles.
William Camden wrote:
Oswald's Russian was apparently quite good, especially considering that he had