376 messages over 47 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 ... 46 47 Next >>
raffster81
Canada
Joined 4740 days ago

2 posts - 2 votes
Studies: English*

Message 193 of 376
06 April 2011 at 5:15am | IP Logged 
I am very new to all the language programs out there and have tried livemocha, lingQ, busuu and the first free lessen in Pimsleur which I really enjoyed as it stayed in my head where I seemed to forget the others. I also tried Rocket German which I found a little cheesy. I guess its just trial and error and finding what works for YOU. I'm a little surprised Tell me more has barely been mentioned, I wonder why? I haven't looked into Assimil and Fluenz but am going to as they seem to be highly recommended here.
1 person has voted this message useful

leyus
Diglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5196 days ago

21 posts - 31 votes
Speaks: Polish*, English
Studies: Spanish

Message 194 of 376
24 April 2011 at 2:27am | IP Logged 
1. Anki,
2. Mnemosyne,

Pimsleur, Tell me more and busuu looks good. Also livemocha looks good, however with those few I didn't had enough experience as I started to use them recently.

The worst software I ever used was Supermemo - faulty and annoying.

Haukilahti
Triglot
Groupie
Finland
Joined 4723 days ago

94 posts - 126 votes 
Speaks: Finnish*, English, Polish

Message 195 of 376
24 April 2011 at 9:07am | IP Logged 
If I have to choose only one, then Assimil.

While I am not an SRS fan - I have downloaded, used for a week and abandoned Anki maybe 5-6 times in my life - I confess I like the integrated language course (with textbook & mp3 recordings) AND srs approach of Supermemo.

Haukilahti
Triglot
Groupie
Finland
Joined 4723 days ago

94 posts - 126 votes 
Speaks: Finnish*, English, Polish

Message 197 of 376
26 April 2011 at 11:06am | IP Logged 
szastprast wrote:
I did try Assimil, the audio was annoyingly slow and artificial, there were no grammar explanations, I gave it up.