Poland
Joined 4862 days ago

40 posts - 52 votes 
Speaks: Polish*, English, Spanish, Greek
Studies: Russian, Serbian

Message 25 of 77
04 December 2010 at 11:49pm | IP Logged 
Origin and level:
I'm Polish, and I have just started learning Russian, so I'm a complete beginner. I already know the alphabet and can read some short texts. Oh, and I can also write. But of course this is nothing, because I cannot even introduce myself properly with the exception of "Яа - полька, яа живу в Варшаве. Я изучаю русский язык."

Reason for studying Russian:
Firstly because I like very much how it sounds and because I always wanted to be able to speak it. However, that's not the only reason. I have some Russian, Ukrainian and Belarussian friends, and they all speak Polish fluently, so my ambition is to show them that I can learn Russian. ;) I study applied linguistics in the University of Warsaw, and apart from some common lectures we all study two languages, one of them having the status of "language B", the more important (Polish is language A for all of us) one, which we theoretically ought to speak better. There is a group with English as language B, German as language B, Spanish as language B, French as language B and Russian as language B. Some of the girls from the Russian group started to learn Spanish, so I had another motivation to immerse in Russian. I can say that in my everyday life I am surrounded by the Russian language, so I realised that it would be very useful to speak it. Even two of my university teachers are Russian, the English phonetics professor and the professor of Spanish descriptive grammar (by the way, they also speak Polish fluently)!

Main linguistic challenges: