CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4944 days ago

72 posts - 94 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Mandarin, Cantonese

Message 74 of 95
28 December 2010 at 12:44am | IP Logged 
My goals are as follows
Cantonese: achieve basic fluency (I'm a beginner right now)
French: reach a B1 (I haven't started French yet and I wont until my Cantonese greatly improves)
1 person has voted this message useful

Meelämmchen
Diglot
Germany
Joined 4883 days ago

214 posts - 249 votes 
Speaks: German*, English
Studies: Modern Hebrew

Message 75 of 95
28 December 2010 at 1:49am | IP Logged 
My first one year goal concerning language learning. So I'm a bit unexperienced with long term planning. At first I planned to get from my solid A1 to B1 in Hebrew next year. But then I read that some users aim at a three-level progression, often vom 0 to B1. So I want to fully concentrate on Hebrew and see what is possible, maybe B2, which means passable or even more elaborated general reading/writing/listening skills.

I also plan to make some progress in Ancient Greek, which I studied occasionally in the past semesters at university. The plan here is to go ahead on the stony grammar based path and strengthen my reading skills. But to breath some life into learning Ancient Greek I will also go through a well written older introduction to it and perhaps some more related linguistic books. Oh, sorry, that is unfair! Learning this language alone can be enjoying and enlightening. Unfortunatly I expect some breaks in the learning process...

edit: mixed up something

Edited by Meelämmchen on 28 December 2010 at 4:30pm

Rodrigo Chaves
Hexaglot
BrazilRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5232 days ago

12 posts - 18 votes
Speaks: Portuguese*, Esperanto, English, Spanish, Italian, Catalan
Studies: Japanese, French

Message 76 of 95
29 December 2010 at 4:55am | IP Logged 
Besides practicing the languages that I already speak (Spanish, English and Esperanto),