justpaste.it/kanewai
Joined 4678 days ago

1386 posts - 3054 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Marshallese
Studies: Italian, Spanish

Message 97 of 331
07 December 2012 at 12:12pm | IP Logged 
More Romantic thoughts ...

- I said I didn't notice any interference, but I did notice that when I studied Italian
it seemed to replace my Spanish completely. When I went back to Spanish I picked up
where I left off, but my Italian disappeared. I never got them confused, but I couldn't
maintain both at the same time.

- Italian, Portuguese, and Catalan are still on my 'short term' list. Meaning, they're
languages I would study for three to six months if I had a trip coming up, but I'm not
aiming for long-term study. Arabic also, unless someone comes out with a brilliant new
or revised course.

- It's great using French as a base for other, more exotic languages (Greek and
Arabic). I find I don't translate the text so much as internalize it for what it is.
Even doing Spanish with a French base (Michel Thomas) was a pretty amazing mental
experience.

- For French, the hard parts came early, with the pronunciation and the pronouns. The
move from A2 to B1 took a lot of work, but wasn't as hard. Spanish, however, seems to
have started more easily, and gotten hard later. There seem to be more and more
phrases in Spanish that don't translate logically into English.
1 person has voted this message useful

Kerrie
United States
justpaste.it/Kerrie2
Joined 5184 days ago

1232 posts - 1740 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish

Message 98 of 331
10 December 2012 at 10:07pm | IP Logged 
Solfrid Cristin wrote:

You almost got me arrested today. I was reading this on my iPhone in the train, and I started laughing so hard that I cought the attention of everyone around me. Now middle aged female buraucrats are not supposed to be laughing out loud on the train in Norway. Only drunks and lunatics do that. I had to move into another wagon to save face.