Diglot
Austria
Joined 5904 days ago

120 posts - 133 votes 
Speaks: German*, English
Studies: Japanese

Message 57 of 101
26 June 2013 at 5:30pm | IP Logged 
Ok, reading my above post feels a bit surreal right now. Why? because of the core6000.
Remember, how 4 days ago I said I still had to do 600 to finish the first 2000? Right now I have 3685 words left. That means I studied quite a lot, and without meaning to.

Seeing as this has been working so great for me recently I will tell you what happened over the past 5 days. Anki Emperor happened xD I don't know if you know this program, but it keeps track of your answers and for every answer you give you get gold, and for every time you answer "good" a new building that you constructed advances. It is pretty awesome and it really kept me motivated.

another thing that has been working great for me is the whole "kanji for breakfast"-system, or in my case: vocab for breakfast. by that I mean that I do my reviews right after I get up in the morning. I don't do all of them right away, but I do few and take breaks in between. I set the lapse time to 3 hours so I can comfortable study new words without interference of the old ones.

I also created a filtered deck for all my failed cards so I can review them more easily. I do this because I know that some new words just need to be reviewed more often and it is better in a filtered deck than in the regular deck, because I can keep studying new words and review depending on what I want.

I have also set the new card limit to 0. that way I don't have to study new cards if I don't want to. There was quite a long period of time where I didn't study new cards at all but just reviewed, and that really helps me now to focus on the new cards