Joined 3846 days ago

905 posts - 1262 votes 
Speaks: Italian*, Spanish, French, English
Studies: Dutch

Message 121 of 177
07 April 2015 at 1:55pm | IP Logged 
What if I do both?
No, I'm joking.

I started to listen to Portuguese news (the actual news, not the slow ones).
It's very easy to get the gist of what is said and I'm glad I studied French and
Spanish before otherwise would be quite difficult. What I saw with French and Spanish
is that it's easier to listen to the formal language (the difficult words are more
similar to Italian than the most common ones, quite interestingly), so a difficult
text or audio is actually easier than everyday colloquial speech. So something about
the philosophical and sociological aspects of the sub-urbanization derivation
patterns in the 17th century (just random words) it's easier to understand than "Mum,
I want cookies" "no dear, you already ate the chocolate and that's enough for today".
I don't have a lot of podcasts by the way. Some news and that's it. I would be glad
about receiving suggestions :)

I think I'll do Arabic.
1 person has voted this message useful

tristano
Tetraglot
Netherlands
Joined 3846 days ago

905 posts - 1262 votes 

Message 122 of 177
08 April 2015 at 1:31pm | IP Logged 
I'll do Arabic.
I'm going to buy a book.

Luso
Hexaglot
Portugal
Joined 5860 days ago

819 posts - 1812 votes 
Speaks: Portuguese*, French, EnglishC2, GermanB1, Italian, Spanish
Studies: Sanskrit, Arabic (classical)

Message 123 of 177
08 April 2015 at 3:43pm | IP Logged 
tristano wrote:
What I saw with French and Spanish is that it's easier to listen to the formal language (the difficult words are more similar to Italian than the most common ones, quite interestingly), so a difficult text or audio is actually easier than everyday colloquial speech.