Diglot
Norway
Joined 4679 days ago

244 posts - 286 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, English
Studies: German, French

Message 81 of 97
03 April 2012 at 10:59am | IP Logged 
Okey, here is my little report on LRing Le Rayon Vert.
My point of view is not the story in the book, but about language learning.

I did one round with LR L2/L2. Only the first 3 chapters did I read the English translation before LR L2/L2.

LR L2/L1 chapter one twice and then LR L2/L2.

Result:
I'm a beginner in French, so it was a bit early to start with LR. But it was not a waste of time. I got immersion and LR L2/L2 helps me to connect spoken language with written language. From my experience with LR German I need about 30-50 hours LR L2/L2 before I start to "see" the words, when the LR L2/L1 is more useful.

Reading the English translation before LR L2/L2 was useful, knowing the story made it a bit easier to guess what words and sentence was about.

1 person has voted this message useful

Adrean
TAC 2010 Winner
France
adrean83.wordpress.c
Joined 5979 days ago

348 posts - 411 votes 
Speaks: FrenchC1

Message 82 of 97
04 April 2012 at 2:18pm | IP Logged 
Great stuff Bjorn. It was good that at least two of us made it to end of this not so
long audiobook. Can I ask you what you thought of the story overall? Will you be
listen-reading again in French soon ? How enjoyable was this form of study for you ?

As for me I enjoyed it up to a point. I am all too familiar with the author's style of
prose which made it just that little bit harder to concentrate. It was as if I'd heard
the story before. For future L-Ring I think the choice of text will be an important
factor.

This exercise was a bit of a stab in the dark for me. I've been doing so little French
study that I wanted to see where I was at. I have no short or long term goal at the
moment and like an athlete I'm completely out of shape. If I hear that I will be going
to France this year I will go on a strict language regime.