sabotai
United States
Joined 5641 days ago

391 posts - 489 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German, Japanese, Korean, French

Message 1 of 151
17 October 2012 at 8:27am | IP Logged 
A quick history. I started learning languages several years ago. I started off with German and progressed very slowly using a popular software package for language learning. It took awhile for me to learn better methods and find better materials. I found HTLAL awhile ago and started reading a lot of threads and experimented with lots of different ideas on language learning.

As time went on, my interest in languages in Asia has gone up while my interest in European languages has gone down. Right now, I'd rank Japanese, Korean and Chinese as 1a, 1b and 1c on the list of languages I want to learn.

Lately, I've been focusing most of my time on Korean. I have a lot of resources for it and here's a very quick rundown of my day.

1 TTMIK lesson a day
- I also create sentences (try for at least 5 but don't always get there) using the previous day's TTMIK lesson and post them on HaruKorean (TTMIK's pay site for sentence correction)
1 lesson/chapter from another source
- For 2 weeks I listen to the dialogs from the lessons several times a day
- For 2 weeks following that, I take the sample sentences from the lessons/chapter and read them every day
- Finally, I take the dialog(s) and sentences and put them into Learning With Texts. I do L1 (or cloze) reps (English to Korean). I start with words, and when the words become "well known" I then do phrases, and when the phrases become "well known" I then finally do reps translating the entire sentence from English to Korean. (Or at least that's the plan. I haven't gotten that far yet.)

List of my Korean resources
Colloquial
Hippocrene
Living Language Spoken World
Active Korean 1
Sogang 1A, 1B, 2A and 2B (plus workbook for 1A)
Yonsei 1 and 2 (plus workbook for 1)
Yonsei Reading 1 and 2
GANADA Korean 1 (plus workbook)