leroc
United States
Joined 4121 days ago

114 posts - 167 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: German

Message 17 of 102
27 November 2013 at 5:08am | IP Logged 
I want to continue reaching higher goals in Norwegian and attain a B1 level.

Since Latvia is in my travel plans for next year I also want to reach an A1-A2 in both Latvian and Russian
1 person has voted this message useful

renaissancemedi
Bilingual Triglot
Greece
Joined 4168 days ago

941 posts - 1309 votes 
Speaks: Greek*, Ancient Greek*, EnglishC2
Studies: French, Russian, Turkish, Modern Hebrew

Message 18 of 102
27 November 2013 at 8:17am | IP Logged 
I am currently studying Italian for a Christmas trip to Italy. After I finish with Italian, at the end of 2013, it's time to move on to another language.

I decided to really use my MT and Pimsleur collection, and achieve a low level on several languages. After that, whenever it's done, I will focus on one of them and really go deeper. I am not sure which one yet.

French (and subsaharan FSI French)
German
Russian
Hebrew
Turkish
Danish (because of a dear danish friend)

I will use MT and Pimsleur, of course, and then assimil and FSI, which is very appealing to me.

I have understood what it takes for me to learn fast, and I intend to use that realization. This forum has made a great difference in that, and it has helped a lot. Anything, from people's advice to reading about their own struggles, has made me understand how to learn by myself.

I decided that humility and non perfectionism will take me a longer way than obsessing over getting absolutely everyting right. Not that I will not try that anyway, but I will not lose sleep over it or feel stressed. Languages are a hobby for me, and what I really want is to communicate with people and take part in their culture.

So:

GOAL
To achieve conversational level in more than one languages, but really get into one. Time will tell which one.