77 messages over 10 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 10
Serpent
Octoglot
Russian Federation
serpent-849.livejour
Joined 6395 days ago

9753 posts - 15779 votes 
4 sounds
Speaks: Russian*, English, FinnishC1, Latin, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
Studies: Danish, Romanian, Polish, Belarusian, Ukrainian, Croatian, Slovenian, Catalan, Czech, Galician, Dutch, Swedish

Message 73 of 77
24 May 2013 at 3:17pm | IP Logged 
To play the devil's advocate, I'm fairly sure that the only difference between writing and speaking is whether you are able to proofread your text and correct your mistakes.
1 person has voted this message useful

HopeTea
Japan
Joined 4069 days ago

37 posts - 41 votes
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese

Message 74 of 77
25 May 2013 at 1:08am | IP Logged 
I don't really have anything valuable to add, as I've only started my second "serious" language within the past
few months. Mostly I just wanted to say I've enjoyed this thread very much. I'm currently studying Japanese
and Spanish, and recently (probably thanks to the six week challenge - I'm jackonskates over there) I've been
making a lot of progress with Spanish.

My problem is trying to make time for Japanese when I'm so pumped up about Spanish and wanting to study
it in every free moment. I think it's hard because my Japanese is much better than my Spanish, so I don't see
a whole lot of improvement over just a few days like with Spanish. I've thought about maybe keeping track of
the time I spend on Japanese like I've been doing with Spanish, and maybe that would help motivate me.
Anyway, hopefully with a little more push I'll get better at balancing both languages. It's been great to hear all
your thoughts!
1 person has voted this message useful

Kronos
Diglot
Germany
Joined 5059 days ago

186 posts - 452 votes 
Speaks: German*, English

Message 75 of 77
25 May 2013 at 10:55am | IP Logged 
Further above in this thread I wrote:

Quote: