116 messages over 15 pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 1 ... 14 15 Next >>
Wulfgar
United States
Joined 4468 days ago

404 posts - 791 votes 
Speaks: English*

Message 1 of 116
14 April 2012 at 10:03pm | IP Logged 
I wanted to share with everyone my opinion of LingQ, and get your opinions too, in a neutral environment where we, hopefully, won’t be
censored or pressured too much by anyone. I enjoy writing product reviews, and hope some learners might find this useful.

Background: I’ve been using LingQ for 2 months, to study Russian, French, Mandarin and Japanese. I read every day in Russian, and twice a
week in the other languages. My approximate reading levels are A1 – Russian, B1 – Mandarin, B1 – Japanese, B2 – French.

Very brief description of LingQ: It’s a site with extensive libraries of graded listening and reading material in several languages. You go to the
library, sort on the level of material you want to study, and choose an article. You open the article, read it, listen to it, and download the
audio to your mp3 player. There is a mouse over dictionary for your use when you read. If you click on a definition in that dictionary, a link is
formed (called a lingQ), and the site will remember that is a word you want to learn. You can review the words in the site’s flashcard tool if
you want. Next time you read an article, the lingQ words will be highlighted yellow, the words you don’t know will be blue, and words you
know won’t be highlighted at all. The site keeps statistics on how many words you know, etc. This is the nuts and bolts of the site, and it can
be used for free as long as you have a limited number of articles and lingQs in use. It costs $10/month for unlimited. I pay for unlimited.
There are other services offered, like personal tutoring, essay correction, etc. To use these services, you have to buy points, and then use
them to pay for the services.

Pros: