learnlatvian.info
Joined 6341 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 1 of 236
01 January 2014 at 2:01pm | IP Logged 
Hi everyone!

I'll be writing about my progress in various languages in this log. My old log for 2012-2013 can be found here, it's mostly about the beginnings of my Korean studies with a lot of Finnish and a bit of German thrown in. This log will contain more German and less Finnish (at least at first) but in general I will keep the same style of logging.

Korean is the language I'm most excited to study. It started as a mere curiosity in March 2012 but I quickly fell in love with it (the language) and then I discovered Korean dramas and I haven't looked back since. I would classify myself as a lower intermediate student at the moment, and my goal is to just keep improving. I'm studying Korean by myself using various resources from the internet and a couple of grammar books I have acquired. I recommend Talk To Me In Korean to everyone who is curious about the language.

German is like an old acquaintance of mine that I haven't been keeping in touch with. I studied it for 8 years at school and I even lived in Germany for half a year but then I lost all my connections to German except listening to the occasional song. In the years that followed, my active German skills deteriorated rapidly so my goal for this year is to bring them back. The reason for that is not because I suddenly discovered a great love for German, I simply need it for work. I will pay special attention to IT-related and finance-related vocabulary.