Winner TAC 2011 & 2012
Norway
Joined 5129 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 169 of 221
21 September 2011 at 11:40pm | IP Logged 
As I thought, I got to speak some French and lots of English in Brussels - which was good, and I bought a course in Slovak - which was even better. I have not added it to my profile of languages I am studying, as I really need to focus on Turkish in order to reach even the very modest objectives I have set for myself in that language before November. I seem to be unable to learn more than 10 words in Turkish, but I am hoping that that will get easier once my life stops spinning at 100 miles an hour.

I will get lots of possibilities to speak French over the next two weks though, as my sister and I are going to Mauritius, close to Madagascar!!!

I have for years put aside a little money each month "for a rainy day", and after having had the rainiest year in recorded history(111 years) in my part of the country, plus the death of both our parents, we decided that it didn't get much rainier than this, emptied our savings accounts, and bought a trip to Mauritius.

It is a long trip, as we leave Oslo on Friday at 19.00 h, and arrive at Mauritius the next day around 13.00h, after changing plane in Paris.

We have hardly seen the sun since July, as we have had rain practically every day, and it is already getting chilly, so the thought of sun, waves, good food, and no children, no husband and no obligations whatsoever, sounds like absolute heaven. Being able to get all the sleep I need, get up when I want to and go to bed when I want to - I can't wait.