Triglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5563 days ago

1197 posts - 1487 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, French
Studies: Welsh, Russian, Japanese, Slovenian, Greek, Italian

Message 25 of 94
26 August 2011 at 4:55pm | IP Logged 
I've never been able to resist German. I can read, listen to, speak German near enough
all day while managing never to quite tire of it. I've been promising myself for years
that I would one day study Greek. My books are all ready, my degree is now over, and
September, the time I promised myself I would start Greek seriously, is almost upon me :]

Jack
2 persons have voted this message useful

Phantom Kat
Diglot
United States
Joined 4860 days ago

160 posts - 253 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, English
Studies: Finnish

Message 26 of 94
26 August 2011 at 5:53pm | IP Logged 
Finnish has grown on me this past year. Sometimes when I don't open my books for a while, I wonder what I plan to get out of this language since I probably won't get a chance to speak it to someone anytime in the near future. It also won't useful for learning any other languages that aren't agglutinative or in the Uralic family. Then I study more grammar, listen to more songs, and all doubts are cast from my mind. The unique grammar, the crispiness of pronunciation, the rhythmic tempo that's caused by the regular stress. It just makes me smile at all that I learned so far.

Also, somehow, French keeps sneaking back into my life. It was the first language I ever studied, and even after dismissing it for years, I am going to start studying it.

- Kat

Edited by Phantom Kat on 26 August 2011 at 5:54pm

1 person has voted this message useful

Icaria909
United States
Joined 5388 days ago

201 posts - 346 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Spanish

Message 27 of 94
26 August 2011 at 7:55pm | IP Logged 
I've studied Spanish for years and for a long time I really disliked the language. But now, I've really gotten into old Spanish poetry and latin american authors. Reading's a tad addicting now...