United Kingdom
Joined 6060 days ago

1936 posts - 2333 votes 
Speaks: English*, German, Spanish, Russian, Turkish, French

Message 33 of 116
12 December 2011 at 12:27pm | IP Logged 
Serpent wrote:
William Camden wrote:
A half-decent teacher or tutor will help you remove them but the total autodidact will continue to bog down in error.
Hm, at my former uni teachers would often point out people's errors and say they gotta work on this or that thing on their own. Sometimes they'd recommend a specific textbook but imo that's not that different from a native speaker simply saying you make the same mistake a lot.

And that's f**king Moscow State Linguistics Uni, groups of 10 people max, everyone actually wanting to improve their English...a better situation than at many classroom courses.

Turkish speakers sometimes point out my mistakes in Turkish, but often do not (my Turkish is almost entirely self-taught, and through conversation, reading or watching TV). Often, if they can understand what I am saying, they will just let the errors through. Whereas a competent teacher would more systematically point the errors out.
2 persons have voted this message useful

Cainntear
Pentaglot
Scotland
linguafrankly.blogsp
Joined 5799 days ago

4399 posts - 7687 votes 
Speaks: Lowland Scots, English*, French, Spanish, Scottish Gaelic
Studies: Catalan, Italian, German, Irish, Welsh

Message 34 of 116
12 December 2011 at 12:56pm | IP Logged 
Serpent wrote:
William Camden wrote:
A half-decent teacher or tutor will help you remove them but the total autodidact will continue to bog down in error.
Hm, at my former uni teachers would often point out people's errors and say they gotta work on this or that thing on their own. Sometimes they'd recommend a specific textbook but imo that's not that different from a native speaker simply saying you make the same mistake a lot.