Canada
Joined 4852 days ago

11 posts - 12 votes
Speaks: English, Cantonese*
Studies: French, Mandarin

Message 153 of 204
15 January 2011 at 4:19am | IP Logged 
I'm 26.

Cantonese Chinese: I was born in Hong Kong and even though I immigrated to Canada at age 4, my parents refused to speak to me in any language but Cantonese in my developing years, so I'm conversationally fluent. My reading/writing leaves a LOT to be desired, though, so I've started working on that again lately.

English: Native fluency since it's the language I was schooled in and immersed in from age 4 and on.

French: I'm at the A2 level. I studied French for many years at school (O Canada!) but didn't progress to fluency before my classes ended. I'm better at reading/writing/speaking than I am at listening though, so I need to find ways to improve my French listening skills. I'm currently enrolled in a class at Alliance Francaise, so I'm hoping practice will help. My goal is to have advanced fluency (can have conversations about non-technical things, be able to read newspapers, watch movies, etc.) by the time I'm 28.

Mandarin Chinese: I just signed up for a class this week, and class starts in a few weeks. Despite my background in Cantonese, I have had little to no exposure to Mandarin, so I'm starting as a beginner.
1 person has voted this message useful

manyvan2000
Diglot
United States
enpakkal.blogspot.co
Joined 4846 days ago

3 posts - 2 votes
Speaks: Tamil*, EnglishC2

Message 154 of 204
19 January 2011 at 2:04am | IP Logged 
Tamil: Mother tongue, but still have a lot to learn :).
English: Moved to US when I was 26. Still learning.
Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam: Learned the basics and know enough to get around places. Need to start learning in depth. Can read / write.
Mandarin: Started learning when I was 25. Stopped when I moved to the US. Started learning again last week. Learned about a couple of hundred words.