Zorg
Diglot
United Kingdom
Joined 5639 days ago

3 posts - 3 votes
Speaks: English*, French

Message 57 of 204
17 November 2008 at 3:57pm | IP Logged 
Greetings, fellow language geeks. Glad to have found this forum.

I'm an English native speaker aged 31 and have the following foreign language background:

French: I lived and worked in France some years ago, did my first degree in French and Russian and then a Masters in Interpreting and Translating. I now work as a full-time interpreter/translator in French and Russian and my other half is French too. We speak French most of the time, though her English is brilliant.

Russian: see above. My Russian is nowhere near as good as my French, but I can still speak it fluently and read it well enough to work as a translator.

Spanish: I have an A level (pre-University qualification for you non-Brits) in Spanish and have continued with some evening classes so have a good conversational level, though my grammar is dodgy to say the least.

Italian: I did one semester of Italian and thanks to my grounding in French and Spanish I can understand it moderately well, though a conversation is a bridge too far.

Finnish: I have a stock of conversational phrases having spent two summers there when I was going out with a Finn ten years ago. Such a hard language, but a lovely place and people.

1 person has voted this message useful

bela_lugosi
Hexaglot
Finland
Joined 6242 days ago

272 posts - 376 votes 
Speaks: English, Finnish*, Italian, Spanish, German, Swedish
Studies: Russian, Estonian, Sámi, Latin

Message 58 of 204
18 November 2008 at 7:13am | IP Logged 
mick33 wrote:
[QUOTE=Sennin]
French: I can't speak or read French at all but I recognize it immediately when I hear it being spoken.

Err..? I don't think that counts at all. I can recognise probably about 40 different languages, but it doesn't mean that I actually have any skills in them...
2 persons have voted this message useful

Volte
Tetraglot
Switzerland