Register  Login  Active Topics  Maps  

Learning with texts

  Tags: Software
 Language Learning Forum : Learning Techniques, Methods & Strategies Post Reply
353 messages over 45 pages: 1 2 35 6 7 ... 4 ... 44 45 Next >>
Michel1020
Tetraglot
Senior Member
Belgium
Joined 3202 days ago

365 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish, Dutch

 
 Message 25 of 353
11 July 2011 at 9:48pm | IP Logged 
Does a french text with à work by you ?

It could come from the standard coding of french which is not unicode but ansi on 1 byte
See http://www.docmemo.com/informatique/codesansi.php
The order of the letters looks the same.

More tests
A one letter text containing à alone is accepted.
As soon as à is use in normal context it is not accepted, giving a zero word text.
But if I put a point behind the à then the text is accepted - for example if I put à. la maison.
this is accepted and gives 2 sentences and 3 words.
The same without the space between the point and the L in LA gives 2 words la and maison.

Strange indeed. Since it looks like a sentence separation problem I delete the Exceptions Split Sentences - I do not know the goal of this part ? No effect. I also test with a-zA-Z followed by all spécial letters in french - no effect.
1 person has voted this message useful



lwtproject
Pentaglot
Senior Member
Netherlands
lwt.sourceforge.net/
Joined 3077 days ago

148 posts - 260 votes 
Speaks: French, Dutch*, German, English, Mandarin
Studies: Italian

 
 Message 26 of 353
11 July 2011 at 10:21pm | IP Logged 
@Michel1020

The system uses Unicode UTF-8.

Please send more details (Browser, Language setting, your full text) to M8R-rmip0s@mailinator.com


1 person has voted this message useful



lwtproject
Pentaglot
Senior Member
Netherlands
lwt.sourceforge.net/
Joined 3077 days ago

148 posts - 260 votes 
Speaks: French, Dutch*, German, English, Mandarin
Studies: Italian

 
 Message 27 of 353
11 July 2011 at 10:23pm | IP Logged 
Version 0.8 has just been released:

Possibility to change term (but only uppercase/lowercase changes allowed).
Upload terms with overwrite now possible.
"Learn/Edit Word/Expression" opens first dictionary automatically.
Number of saved words and "To Do" words are now displayed in "My Texts".
Backup and Restore of the LWT database.
Documentation updated and improved.

Please read the updated: http://lwt.sourceforge.net/
2 persons have voted this message useful



Michel1020
Tetraglot
Senior Member
Belgium
Joined 3202 days ago

365 posts - 559 votes 
Speaks: French*, English, Spanish, Dutch

 
 Message 28 of 353
11 July 2011 at 11:50pm | IP Logged 
I work on a french windows with firefox and tried IE.
My local server is easyphp in french.
I try to set easyphp in English - first it did not look to change anything but now it becomes more and more strange - I am not sure it comes because of this language change.

The fact is that when checking I still get a 1 sentence but zero word BUT if I read the text it is ok BUT there is a question mark replacing the à. By the way this question mark should make it 2 sentences.

So far when I checked and got a zero words there, the text was empty - so in many tests I only consider the result of the check without trying to insert.

Maybe people could try to create a french text with a à and tell if they have some
troubles.

Maybe the special characters should not be alone but part of a word -
I just tried the following sentence ; Il faut bien é il accepte where é should be et in correct french but this is for testing.

The result is the same Il faut bien ? il accepte (1 sentence 4 words).

There is no such problem with one letter word like y a.
1 person has voted this message useful



tommus
Senior Member
CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4051 days ago

979 posts - 1686 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Dutch, French, Esperanto, German, Spanish

 
 Message 29 of 353
12 July 2011 at 12:48am | IP Logged 
Version 0.6 seems to be running correctly for me. The only things that don't look quite right are associated with XAMPP. Normally it is not running when I start my computer. To start it, I either double-click the XAMPP Control icon that it installed, or run xampp-control from the command line in C:\xampp\. In either case, I get a pop-up window warning saying: "XAMPP Component Status Check failure [3]. Current directory: C:\xampp. Run this program only from your XAMPP root directory." In either case, it starts the XAMPP control application, and starts Apache and MySQL. Then I open http://127.0.0.1/lwt/ in Firefox, and it works fine.

However, I have tried a number of times to upgrade from 0.6 to 0.7, with no success. Now I tried upgrading from 0.6 to 0.8, also with no success. This is what I do, and what happens:

1. With version 0.6, I copy c:\xampp\htdocs\lwt to a safe place.

2. In c:\xampp\htdocs\lwt, I delete everything except the directory "media" and the file "connect.inc.php".

3. I unzip 0.8 into a directory and delete the directory "media" and the file "connect.inc.php".

4. I copy everything that remains in the 0.8 directory to c:\xampp\htdocs\lwt

5. I start xampp which starts apache and mysql.

6. I open http://127.0.0.1/lwt/ in Firefox.

7. It refuses to start and displays: DB connect error

8. I copy the old 0.6 files back to ...\lwt and everything works fine.

Any suggestions on what I am doing wrong?







1 person has voted this message useful



tommus
Senior Member
CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4051 days ago

979 posts - 1686 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Dutch, French, Esperanto, German, Spanish

 
 Message 30 of 353
12 July 2011 at 2:49am | IP Logged 
tommus wrote:

7. It refuses to start and displays: DB connect error


Well, after a lot of work, I figured out that lwt was not picking up the password change in mysql. By setting the password manually, 0.8 lwt opened the home page but gave the error;

Invalid query: select StValue as value from settings where StKey = 'currentlanguage'

I can't figure that out. So I am now back in 0.6.




1 person has voted this message useful



lwtproject
Pentaglot
Senior Member
Netherlands
lwt.sourceforge.net/
Joined 3077 days ago

148 posts - 260 votes 
Speaks: French, Dutch*, German, English, Mandarin
Studies: Italian

 
 Message 31 of 353
12 July 2011 at 12:07pm | IP Logged 
@tommus

Please delete your old installation and make a complete reinstall with LWT version 0.8.1 (just released)
Do not change the install location (c:\xampp), do not change/set the db password.
Follow exactly the descriptions.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.


@Michel1020

I can only give support for XAMPP and MAMP local web servers.
Please use XAMPP and use the current version of LWT (0.8.1).

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
1 person has voted this message useful



tommus
Senior Member
CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4051 days ago

979 posts - 1686 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Dutch, French, Esperanto, German, Spanish

 
 Message 32 of 353
12 July 2011 at 2:11pm | IP Logged 
lwtproject wrote:
@tommus

Please delete your old installation and make a complete reinstall with LWT version 0.8.1 (just released)
Do not change the install location (c:\xampp), do not change/set the db password.
Follow exactly the descriptions.

I followed the instructions exactly, except that I did not create a new database in mysql. I had already taken a lot of time to import data including a 145,000 word pairs dictionary.

But now I get the same message:

Invalid query: select StValue as value from settings where StKey = 'currentlanguage'

when I open: http://127.0.0.1/lwt/

Sorry that I am causing you so much work. I wonder if other users have any comments.




1 person has voted this message useful



This discussion contains 353 messages over 45 pages: << Prev 1 2 35 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45  Next >>


Post ReplyPost New Topic Printable version Printable version

You cannot post new topics in this forum - You cannot reply to topics in this forum - You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum - You cannot create polls in this forum - You cannot vote in polls in this forum


This page was generated in 0.3130 seconds.


DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript
Copyright 2019 FX Micheloud - All rights reserved
No part of this website may be copied by any means without my written authorization.