Latvia
learnlatvian.info
Joined 6342 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 385 of 559
01 March 2013 at 11:29am | IP Logged 
I've been too tired these days to do much more studying than Anki reviews, and by studying I mean active studying. I have the Iyagi Airports transcript open all the time on my computer and every day I think I should work on it but then I take a look at it and realize how difficult it is and I just have no energy for it. Maybe I'd read a couple sentences but that's it.

Since I'm studying very little I have to look to word lists for new words to enter into Anki. Currently I'm using this one, but only the Korean words, not the translations; I always look up the translations myself. Sometimes I also look at some example sentences in Naver but usually I'm too lazy to do that so my words in Anki often have no context even in my mind. That's fine. It's better to learn words this way than not to learn them at all. There are many days when I don't want to do the reviews but then I just force myself reminding myself that there will be a payoff in the end. Anki is without a question the most important tool in my studies.

I still listen to either music or podcasts when commuting but I don't consider that active studying.
1 person has voted this message useful

Evita
Tetraglot
Latvia
learnlatvian.info
Joined 6342 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 

Message 386 of 559
04 March 2013 at 9:58am | IP Logged 
On Saturday, I spent about 2 hours on hanja. I think I would eventually like to get to it so I was trying to find a good book that I could ask my colleague to buy in Korea (she leaves in a couple of weeks). Unfortunately I wasn't able to find any books, just some websites. So I looked at some radicals, some Chinese characters, just out of curiosity. I can't imagine learning those that contain more than 5 strokes.