Latvia
learnlatvian.info
Joined 6342 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 193 of 559
12 September 2012 at 10:05am | IP Logged 
I've been evaluating my methods and my goals again. I think it's time to admit I won't be studying as intensively as I was in the first couple of months. I'm simply getting tired of the studying, and I suspect it's in a large part because I'm studying two languages at once. And the Anki reviews require 30-60 minutes each day. 30 minutes is okay but 60 minutes is too much. But I can't drop Anki, that would be the beginning of the end.

So I thought about it and the sensible thing to do seems to be to lower my goals in both languages so that I don't feel like I failed when I don't reach my higher goals. I considered dropping Finnish altogether but I don't want to do that because it would be very hard to pick it up again later and also because Finnish has a greater likelihood than Korean of actually being useful to me at work. As for dropping Korean, well, that's not an option, I love studying it. Even if I dropped Anki and the textbooks, I'd still keep using TTMIK, it's that much fun.

Speaking of TTMIK, I listened to the lesson about how to use 밖에 to say "only". It's an interesting concept that wasn't too difficult for me fortunately. I also repeated some other TTMIK lessons and finished reviewing unit 3 of My Korean. I didn't do any studying for Finnish except the Anki reviews. The reason I studied more Korean than Finnish is that the TTMIK lessons are easier than any of my Finnish materials. You don't have to read anything, you can just listen to the hosts explaining everything in English and giving examples in Korean. It's easy to follow so that's what I tend to do when I'm tired after work.