Amerykanka
Hexaglot
United States
Joined 4961 days ago

657 posts - 890 votes 
Speaks: English*, Spanish, Polish, Latin, Ancient Greek, Russian

Message 161 of 176
09 August 2013 at 3:47am | IP Logged 
It makes sense to me why my language skills are as they are, but I still think it's kind of weird. I'll try to explain
what (I think) happened.

I started learning Polish about 7.5 years ago, but the first two years I was a) young and b) inexperienced with
language-learning, so I didn't make as much progress as could be expected. In the two or three years after
that, though, I studied much more seriously, so about 4 or 5 years into my studies I was doing great. Years 6
and 7 didn't go so well, mainly because I was focusing on Spanish and I didn't have enough time to give
Polish the attention it deserved. I lost a lot of my active skills in that time period, and I'm still regaining some
of them. So far in 2013 I think I've done a pretty good job of reactivating my listening and reading skills. My
speaking has improved, but it's still not where it used to be; and my writing is really bad, compared to what I
was capable of a few years ago. My passive vocabulary, as I mentioned before, has remained almost entirely
intact.

My first contact with Spanish came when I was 5, so I knew some Spanish already when I started learning
Polish. Spanish never played a significant role in my life, though, until January 2011. That was when I began
to focus on Spanish and (unfortunately) neglect my Polish. Not to diss Spanish or anything, but Spanish is
WAY easier for an English speaker to learn than Polish, at least in the beginning and intermediate stages, so
I progressed much faster than I ever had with Polish. Spanish grammar is similar to English grammar, so that
made learning to speak and write much easier, and with my knowledge of Latin and English, Spanish
vocabulary was a breeze compared to Polish vocabulary.