Jeffers
United Kingdom
Joined 4697 days ago

2151 posts - 3960 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Hindi, Ancient Greek, French, Sanskrit, German

Message 297 of 384
14 July 2014 at 11:59am | IP Logged 
Thanks for that incredible summary, Stelle.

Kujichagulia, maybe you should consider using islands in your language teaching. I'm a teacher in England, but not languages. In "year 11" (the same as "10th grade"), students in the UK have to take external exams in most of their subjects, called GCSEs. A few years ago students came into my computer room to print paragraphs they had written in Spanish about themselves, which they were going to memorize to use in the spoken part of the GCSE exam. They memorized paragraphs about their family, activities they like, where they went on holiday, and so on. It seemed to me like they were sort of cheating, but they said that it was only to give them bits of speech to fall back on. Later I read about Shekhtman's islands, and I realized that was exactly what they were doing. Possibly their teacher (or their teacher's teacher) was familiar with Shekhtman.
4 persons have voted this message useful

kujichagulia
Japan
Joined 4635 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 298 of 384
15 July 2014 at 2:35am | IP Logged 
Jeffers wrote:
Kujichagulia, maybe you should consider using islands in your language teaching. [...] A few years ago students came into my computer room to print paragraphs they had written in Spanish about themselves[...]