goo.gl/UIdChYRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 4461 days ago

1044 posts - 1823 votes 
Speaks: English*, French, Spanish
Studies: Italian

Message 113 of 329
17 January 2013 at 12:37pm | IP Logged 
tastyonions wrote:
2. I found a local French conversation meetup about half an hour away. Actually it seems to be a combined class and conversation group, with a one hour class for beginner to intermediate level, followed by an hour and a half conversation group. And it meets every week, too! The next session is tomorrow and I'm going to check it out.

I went to the conversation group and it was fun! Levels of French there varied quite widely, as I thought they might, from highly proficient to complete beginners; I was somewhere in the middle. It met at a restaurant in a very relaxed atmosphere. The "class" part was very informal, mostly just people taking turns reading texts aloud and the group's leader explaining any vocab / grammar that people didn't understand. I found the conversation part more fun, and got to talk to a few people who had been to France. There was one native speaker, from Morocco, but he arrived not long before I had to go.

All in all it was a good time and I'll be visiting again.
1 person has voted this message useful

tastyonions
Triglot
United States
Joined 4461 days ago

1044 posts - 1823 votes 

Message 114 of 329
17 January 2013 at 9:16pm | IP Logged 
Had a second tutoring session today. Went pretty well but I felt like I was bit off my game, hesitating too much, slow to think of the right way to put something. Guess that happens to everyone at some point, though.

[Edit: I forgot to mention that with my new computer, Skype now works beautifully. Not a hiccup in the whole process this time.]

Edited by tastyonions on 17 January 2013 at 11:12pm

emk
Diglot
United States
Joined 5328 days ago

2615 posts - 8806 votes 
Speaks: English*, FrenchB2
Studies: Spanish, Ancient Egyptian
Personal Language Map

Message 115 of 329