431 messages over 54 pages: << Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 ... 53 54 Next >>
kidshomestunner
United Kingdom
Joined 6193 days ago

239 posts - 285 votes 
Speaks: Japanese

Message 105 of 431
12 June 2010 at 4:04am | IP Logged 
I have read through your log as well as trying to read other parts of this site which I find interesting.

Just as a quick question, how did you learn the Georgian 'Alphabet' and was it made significantly easier due to the fact that you know/have more than 4000 kanji?

I ask as after learning kanji I studied Tibetan and I found the script to be significantly easier.

Another quick question: When I started to learn Japanese I encountered many myths: Japanese is cvcvcvcvcvc and always is, Katakana is just for loan words, there are only two irregular verbs, women don't use boku, there are no swear words in Japanese, the jouyou kanji are the only kanji worth knowing etc etc etc. I encountered similar myths in the other languages I studied: Are there myths about georgian and have your studies shattered these myths?
1 person has voted this message useful

TixhiiDon
Tetraglot
Japan
Joined 5252 days ago

772 posts - 1474 votes 
Speaks: English*, Japanese, German, Russian
Studies: Georgian

Message 106 of 431
12 June 2010 at 4:16am | IP Logged 
kidshomestunner wrote:
I have read through your log as well as trying to read other
parts of this site which I find interesting.

Just as a quick question, how did you learn the Georgian 'Alphabet' and was it made
significantly easier due to the fact that you know/have more than 4000 kanji?

I ask as after learning kanji I studied Tibetan and I found the script to be
significantly easier.

Another quick question: When I started to learn Japanese I encountered many myths:
Japanese is cvcvcvcvcvc and always is, Katakana is just for loan words, there are only
two irregular verbs, women don't use boku, there are no swear words in Japanese, the