Joined 6906 days ago

4228 posts - 8259 votes 
20 sounds
Speaks: English*, French
Studies: Polish, Slovak, Uzbek, Turkish, Korean, Finnish

Message 377 of 541
09 September 2013 at 3:02am | IP Logged 
TURKISH

I’ve worked through Unit 5 of “Turkish Self-Study Course” and the material on pgs. 30-36 (rest of Unit 2) in “Elementary Turkish”. I studied more about declarative and interrogative sentences and with the copula suffix –dır etc. and demonstrative pronouns but with the addition of the plural suffix -lar etc. In the latter I studied the conjunctions ile / ve “and”, and ama “but” and then finished the main section of exercises which touched on all of the topics and vocabulary encountered in the unit.

UKRAINIAN

I’ve done the exercises on pgs. 154-6 in Chapter 9 of “Modern Ukrainian”. These exercises reviewed what had been introduced in the preceding chapters and also contained questions for reading comprehension of the chapter’s narratives and dialogues.

(From Неймовірні пригоди на Місяці via комікси | Це прекрасно! | Український інформаційно-розважальний портал)

1) “Houston…”
2) “…you’re not going to believe [this]”

Convention for vocabulary in the comic strip that's unfamiliar to me (i.e. needed to consult a dictionary)

NOUNS & ADJECTIVES: nominative singular (genitive singular)
VERBS (where applicable using convention of imperfective > perfective): infinitive (1st person singular present tense [imperfective verb] / future tense [perfective verb], 3rd person plural present tense [imperfective verb] / future tense [perfective verb])
ADVERBS & INTERJECTIONS: no extra information given

OTHER LANGUAGES

As noted before I’m pretty busy right now and don’t expect to post much here for the next little bit. I may put down another short entry in about a week.
______

2 persons have voted this message useful

Chung
Diglot
Joined 6906 days ago

4228 posts - 8259 votes 
20 sounds

Message 378 of 541
13 September 2013 at 8:13pm | IP Logged