Japan
Joined 4650 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 153 of 706
24 March 2013 at 8:39am | IP Logged 
Thank you for all the replies!

Well, that settles it... I'll stay with one log.

I never thought about it before, but I do suppose that balancing study of Japanese with study of Portuguese makes for a nice story. :) I do remember way back in the summer, when I was wondering if studying a language like Portuguese along with Japanese would cause problems for me. Well, here I am, nearly eight months later, and I'm studying Japanese more than ever, not to mention having fun learning Portuguese.

Edited by kujichagulia on 24 March 2013 at 8:43am

3 persons have voted this message useful

kujichagulia
Japan
Joined 4650 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 

Message 154 of 706
27 March 2013 at 1:14am | IP Logged 
For a while now, I've made a point of looking for podcasts in Japanese and Portuguese aimed at native speakers - or even recording talk radio - and putting it on my portable media player to listen to when I'm away from home. I didn't learn any new vocabulary or grammar that way (although at one point, I tried pausing a Japanese podcast whenever I came across a new word, looking that word up, then continuing... that became tedious and boring very quickly), but my thinking was that I would get other benefits, like learning the "cadence" and "rhythm" of a language, learning pronunciation, how to parse sentences, etc.

Now, after reading a recent thread about improving listening, I wonder if I've been wasting my time.

To summarize what was in that thread (mainly for my benefit and reference later), user Ari stated three rules:
1. Listen to material that you would understand in written form. I take this to mean something else: Listen to material that is at or slightly above your level.
2. If something is too easy (i.e. you understand, say, 98% of what is being said), look for audio that is a little more difficult.