Japan
Joined 4636 days ago

1031 posts - 1571 votes 
Speaks: English*
Studies: Japanese, Portuguese

Message 689 of 706
10 July 2015 at 7:23am | IP Logged 
Serpent, iguanamon, Expugnator:

Wow... just wow. It's been a couple of days, but I'm still picking my jaw up off of the floor, amazed at the clarity of what you guys wrote.

Now, I know I've been told in this log what you guys said about extensive reading and listening time and time again, but for some reason these posts have really made an impact. You're right, I really don't have faith that gaps will be filled and vocabulary and grammar will be learned if I don't try to squeeze every drop out of a text or some audio. I always felt that if I moved on from something, and I didn't understand every last bit of it, I failed.

I suppose this comes from how I studied Japanese before, when I first came to Japan, or at least not doing it the right way. My first few years in Japan, all of my language studies were limited to beginner textbook work. I would do 30 minutes perhaps four times a week. I would do a lesson or part of a lesson from the book. Listen to and read the dialog, do some writing exercises, some kanji work, and then I was finished with the lesson. Once I did my 30 minutes of book work in a day, that was all the interaction that I had with Japanese. I didn't do any other Japanese activities. And later, when I went back and looked at lessons I had previously done, I found that I didn't remember everything. So that discouraged me. It also discouraged me that, even though I was studying, I didn't really notice any improvement in understanding the Japanese I was hearing and seeing around me. Of course, I was still a beginner at the time, but I wasn't really reminding myself of that. It's funny when I think about it now: a beginner comparing his Japanese to natives. That's probably what led me to going off track and going months between any kind of dedicated language study.