forum_posts.asp?TID=Registered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5021 days ago

1493 posts - 2500 votes 
Speaks: Spanish*, EnglishC2
Studies: German, Russian, Japanese

Message 329 of 586
09 January 2013 at 1:42am | IP Logged 
Josquin wrote:
[...] For me, both hard and soft л and ш and щ are nearly impossible to distinguish. I think I'm getting to a point where I can make a distinction between ш and щ, but л and ль? Forget it! [...]

In one of the links that tarvos will fix or re-paste at the beginning of the team thread some day, you can get to this page with diagrams and descriptions of Russian letters pronunciation (a resource I mention and link to all the time). With that and Mark's advice about л (avoid the teeth/alveoli!) I've come a long way with both of those pairs. Sure, I'm still in doubt when I hear them and I'm no pronunciation master but that's because I get very little practice. However, the difference becomes obvious after a few tries.

Edited by mrwarper on 09 January 2013 at 1:47am

1 person has voted this message useful

Марк
Russian Federation
Joined 4851 days ago

2096 posts - 2972 votes 
Speaks: Russian*

Message 330 of 586
09 January 2013 at 8:59am | IP Logged 
Josquin wrote:
but I think you shouldn't argue with a native speaker about his
language. Although Mark can be very critical, I always found his suggestions very
useful, and learning a language well doesn't mean sounding "bookish". We already had
this discussion in the "Should one learn slang" thread. Of course one should know
colloquial language, but you should also know when it's called for.

Other than that, I agree with Cristina that this isn't Team Война...

EDIT: For me, both hard and soft л and ш and щ are nearly impossible to distinguish. I
think I'm getting to a point where I can make a distinction between ш and щ, but л and
ль? Forget it! The worst word I can think of is большой. I never get the combination of