United States
Joined 4182 days ago

4 posts - 4 votes
Speaks: Lithuanian, English*
Studies: German, Mandarin

Message 33 of 457
16 December 2012 at 5:45pm | IP Logged 
大家好!
This is my first time doing the TAC, and I'm rather new to this forum. I guess a little backstory on my Mandarin is
called for, then.
I've been learning German over the last six or so months, and of course, I've had a bit of wanderlust. One of the
main languages being Mandarin. A while ago, I learned the tones and “你好,谢谢。”, but didn't go into detail at all,
and then school started up again.
Now, what made me actually definitively start learning Mandarin was the start of a new Project at school. It's the
biggest project in the senior-year class, to learn about government and such. What we do is we hold a very
intricate faux-election campaign, with different parties, etc.
What happened, is a few of my friends and I joined and decided to make a Firefly team. I was thinking about
that, and I remembered, "Hey, they speak Mandarin/English in Firefly", and then I figured that's enough of a "kick"
to actually start.
1 person has voted this message useful

Evita
Tetraglot
Latvia
learnlatvian.info
Joined 6346 days ago

734 posts - 1036 votes 
Speaks: Latvian*, English, German, Russian
Studies: Korean, Finnish

Message 34 of 457
16 December 2012 at 8:59pm | IP Logged 
Regarding the name of the team, actually I'd prefer something else than a Chinese character. The name should be something everyone on this forum can read and understand, not just the team members. For example, in this year's TAC 2012 the names for the Japanese and Asian teams were totally incomprehensible for me and I couldn't use them. So, with this in mind, I tried to come up with a new name. My best suggestion is team "Faraway". What does everyone think?

vermillon
Triglot
United Kingdom
Joined 4472 days ago

602 posts - 1042 votes 
Speaks: French*, EnglishC2, Mandarin
Studies: Japanese, German

Message 35 of 457