Studies: Mandarin, German, Italian

Message 193 of 509
24 December 2010 at 10:28pm | IP Logged 
Also check out these pages :

Usage of dit/deze and dat/die :
http://www.dutchgrammar.com/en/?n=Pronouns.De06

Usage of de/het
http://www.dutchgrammar.com/en/?n=NounsAndArticles.03

Both are articles on what seems to be an excellent resource for help on dutch grammar.

Edit : Apparently I can't post the above links as real links because I'm a newbie :(.
You'll have to copy-paste them.

Vrolijk kerstfeest!

Edited by stwel on 24 December 2010 at 10:30pm

1 person has voted this message useful

JanKG
Tetraglot
Belgium
Joined 5578 days ago

245 posts - 280 votes 
Speaks: Dutch*, English, German, French
Studies: Italian, Finnish

Message 194 of 509
25 December 2010 at 12:24am | IP Logged 

Concerning the comments on
1.(...) we would say : "Je gaat af en toe naar de bioscoop.".

2. "Je leest af en toe een/de krant." (Or any other word order)

QUOTE] Especially: "af en toe" should indeed be at the end, unless you would be using "de krant", in which case it would sound more natural if you say "Hij leest af en toe de krant". The difference between both sentences is that "die krant" refers to a specific newspaper, whereas "de krant" is indefinite, and refers to any newspaper.
[/QUOTE]

I think the best advice we can give to our student of Dutch is to put time adjects between conjugated verb (SV) and any object (incl. prepositional, directional), etc. I think that is the easiest, "most grammatical" rule s/he can use. But the problem seems to be that in spoken language we tend to use the "non-tang" construction ^which I love to call 'knitting', which is communicatively more logical (first the nucleus, then the adjuncts). But I would not even make a distinction between the "een' and "de" sentence, as I think very often they mean the same. No ?

Edited by JanKG on 25 December 2010 at 12:36am

tommus
CanadaRegistered users can see my Skype Name
Joined 5677 days ago