Diglot
United Kingdom
Joined 4639 days ago

2371 posts - 3676 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Danish, Welsh

Message 433 of 509
22 September 2011 at 8:34pm | IP Logged 
I used to have an active interest in Dutch many years ago, but, but it passed. Much later, I studied German, and got to a much higher level in that than I was ever at in Dutch, although, as others have reported, found I could often read Dutch with a reasonable understanding, from my German knowledge (and perhaps a vestigial memory of learning Dutch). Speaking and listening were another matter of course.

Now, the reason I started with Dutch was because I had met a Flemish girl ... (you'll have heard similar stories of course), and naively, I looked for books on how to learn Flemish in English bookshops (this was late 1960s) and didn't find any. It took me a while to realise that Flemish and Dutch were closely related and that I should be looking for books on how to learn Dutch, which of course I did.

Now, fast forward to the present, and I was interested to read a comment (I think in this thread) saying that if you were going to learn Dutch and Flemish, then you should start with Flemish. Just taking that as a serious comment and assuming it has any merit, can the modern-day learner actually find self-study Flemish books or courses, or do you still have to go the route of learning Dutch (as far as formal courses are concerned)?

I remember reading in the late 60s or 70s, that the universities of Belgium and the Netherlands had agreed that the written form of Flemish and Dutch were officially the same (with some very minor changes). I gather that this is not now actually the case, and they are recognised, even in the written form, as two separate languages. Have I got this right?