Joined 5129 days ago

4143 posts - 8864 votes 
Speaks: Norwegian*, Spanish, Swedish, French, English, German, Italian
Studies: Russian

Message 329 of 656
04 June 2012 at 11:23pm | IP Logged 
jessikt wrote:
LANGUAGE: German, Spanish, Swedish

CHALLENGE: 3 x Half Challenge (50 books, 50 movies in each language!)

CURRENT LEVEL: Just starting! I'm about a C1 in German, B1-2 in Spanish and complete beginner in Swedish

COMMENTS: I'm hoping this challenge will help me learn more about the cinema and literature of the three
languages I am interested in, as well as polishing my German and Spanish skills and giving me a jump-start learning
Swedish! I will be posting about my progress in detail in my blog:
http://ichestudiolangues.com

You can register for Swedish and possibly for Spanish, but I am afraid that you are overqualified in German, since B1 is the upper limit. You could do an Advanced Super Challenge in German though :-)

Edited by Solfrid Cristin on 04 June 2012 at 11:24pm

1 person has voted this message useful

RMM
Diglot
Groupie
United States
Joined 5022 days ago

91 posts - 215 votes 
Speaks: English*, German
Studies: Italian, Spanish, Ancient Greek, French, Swedish, Japanese

Message 330 of 656
05 June 2012 at 12:52am | IP Logged 
UPDATE

OK, I meant to update again here a while back, but just didn’t get around to it. I agree with Kanewai that I’d like to see people’s thoughts posted here more often, so I guess I’d better contribute my fair share too.

Since last update I’ve started playing catch up with my Spanish and to a lesser extent my Italian. I especially went crazy with fantasy films. I watched all three Narnia films dubbed in Spanish. The first one is the best, but the others are worth watching, especially if you see them in high quality blu-ray. I also watched the first Potter film in Spanish, since I’ve started reading the book in Spanish and I have the audio book for it on top of that. I enjoyed it, but I like the later Potter stories better.